Hockey Awards Night 2016

| April 1, 2016

The Fox Creek hockey families came together to celebrate accomplishments and excellence in hockey on March 22.  Kerri Hudson, President of the 2015/16 season, congratulated everyone on a well played season.

Esso Achievement Awards were handed to the players by their coaches, along with handshakes and high fives on a well played season.


Initiation Bulldogs with Coaches, Chris Bignell, Rick Rector and Tyler Scobey


Novice Bulldogs with coaches, Ian Chwok, Lennus MacRae, Alex Macaulay and Don Sather


Atom Bulldogs with coaches David Roddick, Ian Chwok, Paige Kelly and Braeden Roddick


PeeWee Bulldogs with coaches Cory Coughlin, Shayne Smith, Tyler Scobey, Nick Hudson and manager, Kiley Shepherd.

Steven Harding Referee of the Year Award

The Steven Harding Referee Award recipient is chosen from our group of local referees who show the best example of character, fair play, teamwork and consistency.  Steven Harding was a young referee who was taken from the world four years ago.  He was a much-loved son, student, athlete and referee.  This year’s recipient was fourteen year old, Braeden Roddick.


Tyler Scobey presents the Steven Harding Referee of the Year award to Braeden Roddick.


Appreciation was extended to all local referees who helped officiate throughout the 2015/16 season.

Offensive Player sponsored by 3Boys Tank & Vac Truck Services

  • Initiation – Gage Gomuwka
  • Initiation – Luke Rector
  • Novice – Lucah Lamb (absent)
  • Atom – Cohen Slocum
  • PeeWee – Spencer Rycroft

Chris McKennit alongside the recipients of the Offensive Player Award, sponsored by 3Boys Truck and Vac Services.

Defensive Player sponsored by Rival Trucking

  • Initiation – Braxton Bignell
  • Initiation – Xander Bignell
  • Novice – Reichen Sather
  • Atom – Jonathan Roddick
  • PeeWee – Fischer Hudson

Charity Chwok alongside the recipients of the Defensive Player Award, sponsored by Rival Trucking

Most Dedicated sponsored by Oshanek Inspection Services

  • Initiation – Brielle Deciccio (absent)
  • Initiation – Landon Labbie
  • Novice – Brock Hudson
  • Atom – Jacob Scobey
  • PeeWee – Kody Burki

Recipients of the Most Dedicated Player Award, sponsored by Oshanek Inspection Services

Most Sportsmanlike Player sponsored by Kodiak Oilfield Services

  • Initiation – Eva Scobey
  • Initiation – Evanee Lamb (absent)
  • Novice – Daizy-Lee Jantz
  • Atom – Isaac Rioch
  • PeeWee – Dominic Chaychuk

Andrew Slocum, alongside recipients of the Most Sportsmanlike Player Award, sponsored by Kodiak Oilfield Services.

Most Improved Player sponsored by Fox Creek Legion Branch #280

  • Initiation – Kaylin Desserre
  • Initiation – Leland Thorn
  • Novice – Kiya Boden
  • Novice – Keegen Erickson
  • Atom – Aryanan Bartlett
  • PeeWee – Zander Macdonald

    Stewart MacAskill along side recipients of the Most Improved Player Award, sponsored by Fox Creek Legion Branch #280.

Heart & Hustle sponsored by ProFoxx Energy Services

  • Initiation – Mason Hodges
  • Initiation – Eric Rector
  • Novice – Jaxon Hager
  • Atom – Bo Lachance
  • PeeWee – Sawyer Smith

    Alex Macaulay alongside the recipients of the Heart & Hustle Award, sponsored by ProFoxx Energy Services

Derald Palmer Citizenship Award

Derald  Palmer always encouraged fair play and excellence, both on and off the ice, so in keeping with his spirit, an award was made in his honor.

  • Initiation – Cohen Palmer
  • Initiation – Rhys Hanlon
  • Novice – Mason Mohler
  • Atom – William Roddick
  • PeeWee – Tyrel Shepherd

    Brady Palmer alongside recipients of the Derald Palmer Citizenship Award. All photos by Melissa Scobey.

The Lyle Young Award

The Lyle Young Award is presented to a parent whose dedication and volunteerism goes above and beyond.

Along with Mrs. Brenda Burridge, Kerri Hudson presented this award to Tyler Scobey.  Scobey has contributed endless hours because of his passion for hockey.  Over the years he has scheduled referees, coached various levels, taught power skating, and sharpened an infinite number of skates.  His dedication has not gone unnoticed.  Burridge presented the award to him with a big hug and smile of thanks.


Brenda Burridge presents Tyler Scobey with the Lyle Young Volunteer of the Year Award

2016/17 Fox Creek Minor Hockey Association Board

The awards night also saw the election of next year’s board.

President – Chris Bignell

1st Vice – Robin Moon

2nd Vice – Deb Roddick

Secretary – Heidi Lutz

Treasurer –  Stacey Gomuwka

Equipment Manager – Cori Slocum

Fundraising Coordinator – Kiley Shepherd

Games and Conduct – Shayne Smith

SPHL Representative – Christine Kelly

Referee in Chief – Tyler Scobey

Asst. Referee in Chief – Colin Bartlett

Congratulations to all the players, teams, refs and coaches on another great season of Minor Hockey in Fox Creek!

7 people like this post.

Print This Post Print This Post


Category: Hockey, Sports

About the Author (Author Profile)

Submitted stories are highly valued in FOCUS. Without them, something about everything wouldn't be possible. Please thank a contributor today! All readers are invited to commit an act of community journalism. Submit your work by email.

Comments (0)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

There are no comments yet. Why not be the first to speak your mind.

Comments are closed.

plugin by DynamicWP
Hide me
Receive morning news updates to your email
Enter your email address:
Show me